Mercury nominations: Can a rapper win two years in a row?

Last year Skepta took home the prestigious Mercury Prize and the Grime scene celebrated their first win at the awards since Dizzee Rascal won with his debut a’Boy In The Corner’ in 2003. The year before that Ms Dynamite had received the award. Since then it took 13 years for an artist directly of Grime or Hip-Hop culture to win again. This year with J Hus, Stormzy and Loyle Carner all nominated, could we see a rapper win two years in a row? I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Check the full list of nominees below:

Alt-J – Relaxer
Blossoms – Blossoms
Dinosaur – Together, As One
Ed Sheeran – Γ· (Divide)
Glass Animals – How To Be A Human Being
J Hus – Common Sense
Kate Tempest – Let Them Eat Chaos
Loyle Carner – Yesterday’s Gone
Sampha – Process
Stormzy – Gang Signs and Prayer
The Big Moon – Love in the 4th Dimension
The xx – I See You

Words by: Novar FLIP



Leave a Reply